Lakas-Kampi-CMD bets dominate elections


SAN JOSE, Antique – Bets of the Lakas-Kampi-CMD in Antique province came out victorious in this year’s elections.
Gov. Exequiel B. Javier, Cong. Paolo Everardo S. Javier, and Vice Gov. Rosie A. Dimamay, all belonging to the administration party, were proclaimed by the Provincial Board of Canvassers (PBOC) led by Chairman Atty. Gil B. Barcenal on Thursday night as the winners of the electoral races.

The proclamation came after the Municipal Board of Canvassers has submitted all the results in the 18 towns of the province.

Earlier, results from poll precincts in Sibalom, Antique could not be transmitted due to problems with the precinct count optical scan (PCOS) machines.

Although it was apparent that the runaway winners are the Javier father and son, and Dimamay due to the big margin of votes they posted, they could not be proclaimed as only 56 out of the 81 precincts were counted.

Paolo, who will replace his father Exequiel, vowed to provide more access to education for poor students by building more schools and to work on food security by putting up more irrigation systems, considering that Antique is mainly an agricultural province.

He also vowed to provide more job opportunities to the people by developing the tourism potentials of the province.

Paolo, in the final results from the 18 municipalities of Antique, garnered 93, 081 votes over closest rival Gov. Sally Perez of the Nationalist People’s Coalition (NPC) who got 64,127 votes.

The other contenders for the position were former Assemblyman Arturo Pacificador of the Kilusang Bagong Lipunan (KBL) with 30, 471 votes; former police general Robert Delfin of the Partido Demokratiko Sosyalista ng Pilipinas (PDSP) with 12, 848 votes; Narzal Mallares of Aksyon Demokratiko with 3, 443 votes and Antero Florante Villaflor, Jr. of the Lapiang Manggagawa with 838 votes.

In a three-way gubernatorial race, outgoing Antique solon and Lakas provincial chair Exequiel Javier defeated Vice Gov. Rhodora Cadiao of the Partido ng Masang Pilipino (PMP). Exequiel garnered 111, 642 votes while Cadiao got 82, 045 votes and Jose Angor, Jr. got 3, 993 votes.

Board Member Rosie Dimamay of Lakas also controlled the six-cornered vice gubernatorial race with 66, 667 votes followed by Liberal Party (LP) bet Fernando Corvera with 36,284 votes. Independent candidates Vincent Piccio III got 34,212 votes, Hector Frangue with 23,306 votes, Errol Santillan (Aksyon Demokratiko) with 18,639 votes and Gaspar Ambong with 4,279 votes.

Winners for the North District’s five seats in the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) are physician and neophyte politician Egidio Ilio (Independent) who got 46,187 votes, Bugasong Vice Mayor Victor Condez of Lakas with 43,084 votes, Pandan Mayor Plaridel Sanchez VI of NPC with 36,064 votes, reelectionist Calixto Zaldivar III with 34,497 votes and Municipal Liga President Joseph Eugene Alojipan of Lakas with 34,483 votes.

The unlucky contenders were Ediviano Mosquera of Lakas that garnered 33,178 votes, PMP bet Emmanuel Palacios, Jr. with 23,841 votes, Lakas bet Teopisto Estaris, Jr. with 23,247 votes, reelectionist Benjamin Juanitas (NPC) with 20,071 votes, Flord Nicson Calawag of the NPC with 14, 863 votes and independent Josel Valenzuela, Sr. with 2,967 votes.

For the SP South District, the top five are businessman and provincial councilor president Edgar Denosta of Lakas with 48,537 votes, musician and reelectionist Dante Beriong (Independent) with 43,717 votes, reelectionist Tobias Javier with 41,326 votes, dentist Dino Roel Operiano of Lakas with 39,938 votes and Roland Plameras with 34,622 votes.

Those who did not make it were Nelly Abiera of Lakas with 27,314 votes, LP bet Damian Marfil with 26,982 votes, Alfonso Combong III (NPC) with 20,961 votes, Bernie Salcedo (Nacionalista Party) with 19,202 votes, Penny Cabrejas (NPC) with 18,726 votes, Julito Osunero (NPC) with 18,612 votes, NP bet Ma. Carmen Tubianosa with 14,799 votes and independent candidate Rubina Javier with 6, 851 votes.

According to Comelec records, there were 234,591 registered voters who cast their votes.
The three ex-officio members, Provincial Councilors’ League, Liga ng mga Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan will be elected in a few months time.

Political observers opined that the latest election results will radically change the political landscape of the province that is infamously known for its bitter political bickering.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

You may also like